Groups are an easy way to categorize employees - perhaps by department (e.g., "Maintenance"), shift (e.g., "Third shift"), or other similar characteristics (e.g., "Production floor supervisors"). You can use groups to quickly filter for a set of employees in the desktop portal, and also send messages to specific groups using TeamSense Communicate.
Ready to use groups? Here's what you need to know.
How to add to or create Groups
Many employee groups are first created in the initial import of employees into TeamSense, where groups are included as an optional data field. However, once employees are imported, administrators can continue to create groups as they wish.
To add an employee to a group from the desktop portal, navigate to the Employees page. Select the employees you would like to include in this group, click on Edit Groups, followed by Add Selected to Group.
If the group you're adding to already exists, simply choose it from the list. If you want to create a new group for the selected employees, you can just type the name of the group and you'll see the option to create it.
Voila! The employees have been added, and if you have a new group, it has been created as well!
How to remove employees from existing groups
Similarly, to remove employees from a group, select the employees you would like to remove, click Edit Groups, and then Remove Selected from Groups. In the pop-up window, select the group from which you would like to remove the employees, and confirm by clicking Remove.
How many groups can an employee be in?
An employee can be in as many groups as you like! 1 or 10 or beyond - it's up to you.
Will I be able to see groups created by other administrators?
You will be able to see any groups where you have administrative access to ALL employees in that group. If you are an administrator for all company employees in your TeamSense account, you will see all groups.
For organizations that use divisions in TeamSense, some administrators may only have access to a subset of employees. In that case, the administrator will only see a group if they have administrative access to every employee in the group. For example, an administrator who only has access to Division A will only see groups where every group member is an employee in Division A. If a group has some employees in a different Division B, then the Division A administrator will not see this group in their desktop portal.
Is it possible to have a group with no employees in it?
Nope! You will need to select employees to be in a group in the process of creating the group. Similarly, if you remove the last employee from a group, the group will be automatically deleted.